{EN} skin care routine

One of the things I have always wanted most in life definitely is clear skin.  I’ve been struggeling with blemishes skin for like forever.. Don’t get me wrong on that. I never had acne or a face covered in spots. I just had a few spots on my face but for me these were huge and by huge, I mean really huge. I guess other people didn’t even notice them, but for me it was as if there was a big massive arrow pointing on every single one of these blemishes. I tried everything. I tried every tip you can find on the internet. I spent 20 minutes on my skin every morning and evening (and sometimes another twenty minutes in between). I wasted so much time watching youtube vids and preparing my own face masks. I spent hundreds of €€ on products which promise to help, but end up making it all worse. I can’t even imagine how much damage I have done to my skin.

Now, after fighting with my skin for several years I finally found my right way. I like my skin now, it’s not perfectly clean, but almost. My skin care doesn’t take much time and also it is cheap. Like really cheap. Don’t expect to see any expensive or fancy products in this post, there are none. I now spend my money on better things – concert tickets, vacations, a nice pair of shoes, gym clothes, FOOD ❤ or doing things with friends. Your skin deserves the best, but the best doesn’t always cost hundreds of dollars. So, here’s my skin care routine, maybe it will help you too.

I think this post is most interesting for my german followers, since almost all of the products are from german companys, and I don’t know if you can get them in other countries (besides countries next to Germany) too. But anyway, maybe it’s still a good inspiration

I always start my day with cleaning my face. I’ve been using the „Waschgel Meeresalge“ (Cleansing gel seaweed) by a natural cosmetics company called alverde for a few years now, even before I went vegan. Oh, this reminds me – almost every product in this post is vegan, and most of them are natural too! I think there are only 2 things which I’m still using up before I replace them with a vegan product, because I don’t want to waste anything. I like this cleansing gel a lot, I really feel like my skin gets clean when washing my face with it. I have stopped using it for a month or so at the beginning of the year because I wanted to see how my face reacts when I just wash it with water, but I like it much better with this gel so I returned to my usual routine quite quickly. Anyway, I am looking for another cleansing gel. It bothers me that this gel is used up so fast. I need to rebuy it 1-2 times a month. So if anyone of you has a tip for a great (but cheap) cleansing gel, please drop it in the comments below!

2-3€
2-3€

After that I moisturize it. I use two different moisturizer, one for when I don’t want to wear any make up, and the other one for when I do. One of them is toned, I use it as my make up, because I feel like real make up is too ‚heavy‘. I love the toned moisturizer by alverde (watch out, there will be lots of alverde things on this post). I only need a fingertip of it for my whole face. I’m using it since 2 months now (I think) and there’s still so much in there. It covers up most of the little blemishes which are still there (working on them grrr) and moisturizes my skin at the same time , win win! When I go make up free for one day or just don’t want to put color on my skin I use the „balance“ moisturizer by neobio, it’s also vegan and natural. Btw almost all skin care products by alverde are vegan, only a few are not and you can easily spot them because they dont have the vegan sign on their back.

Alverde <5€ , neobio 4-5€
Alverde <5€ , neobio 4-5€

After showering I moisturize my legs (and sometimes my whole body, but I rarely have time for that #busychick) with „Körpermilch Kakaobutter Hibiskus“ (bodymilk cacao butter hibiscus) by, guess what, alverde. It’s vegan, natural and cheap. So OF COURSE I am a fan of their company.

1-3€
1-3€

I have this habit that I need to wash my hands A LOT. I wash them at least once per hour and I wash them about 3 minutes each in the morning and in the evening. Also, I need to use hand balm a lot, I am just crazily obsessed about hand care. In school I always use „schöne Hände“ (beautiful hands) by Yves Rocher. And this is one of the not vegan products I use. At least I think it’s not vegan, I haven’t really checked, but I know that Yves Rocher belongs to Sanofi, and Sanofi still tests on animals. I can’t wait until this balm is empty so I can get a vegan one (actually it’s almost empty WUHUU).

DSC_0083

Another thing from Yves Rocher I still use is „fruchtiges Peeling“ (fruity peeling). It smells amazing and I use it once a month on my face and sometimes for pedicure and manicure, anyway, I will of course buy a complety vegan peeling after this one, or maybe I’ll try a DIY peeling. For my body I use the „Kokosraspeln Lotusblüte Duschpeeling“ (coconutflakes lotus blossom shower peeling) by alverde. It’s almost empty and I surely will rebuy it!

alverde 2-3€, Yves Rocher ~2€
alverde 2-3€, Yves Rocher ~2€

I use two different shower gels, but both are by alverde.I use the vanilla mandarin at the gym and the other one at home. I like both of them but I LOOOOOVE the smell of the vanilla mandarin one. It makes me so happy, I always sniff on the bottle before using it. It’s like a drug. The other one feels amazingly on the skin,  I can’t really decide which one I like better, so it’s perfect that I get to use both of them 😉

beide 1-3€
both 1-3€

I read a lot about just using coconut oil for skin care. Coconut oil as makeup remover, as moisturizer, as cleansing gel… I tried that too. I wear waterproof eye makeup, and coconut oil just messes it up, but it doesn’t remove it at all. When using coconut oil as cleanser I stil feel as if my face is dirty afterwards, so I still prefer to use my cleansing gel. The only thing I would recommend is to use it as moisturizer. I’ve done it for a few months and I liked it. At first I thought it would be too oily but it actually wasn’t that oily. Still, I only used it in the evening. Using coconut oil as moisturizer is cheap, it’s natural and it’s easy. But I still prefer my other moisturizer. From time to time I still use coconut oil, but I use it more in my hair.

?€
?€

Since coconut oil doens’t work as a makeup remover for me, of course I need an alternative. Currently I am using the make-up remover waterproof by balea, which is also a german brand which belongs to the same company as alverde, I think it’s also vegan (the product, not the whole brand). It works really well and I already rebought it a million times.

~1€
~1€

These are all products I use on my skin and it really has gotten better since using them. Atm there’s no face mask I can recommend but I recently found a DIY idea on youtube and I’ll try that soon and of course tell you about it!

Love, Kim xx


IG @shadesofkim fitwithkim.tumblr.com fitwithkim@web.de
IG @shadesofkim fitwithkim.tumblr.com fitwithkim@web.de
2 thoughts on “{EN} skin care routine

Leave a Reply

